Sky studies

I have never painted much sky or landscape but I have a couple of commissions coming up  that require it.

This  is me getting my eye in for clouds.

First attempt (with no reference and minimal googling)

image

Result: far too bold and splotchy  for what I want. Looks like rhubarb custard.

Second attempt (a short Google later)

image

Result: definitely better

Third attempt (with the guidance from my new favourite artist, Roland Lee)

image

Result: looking good

Fourth Attempt (still rolling with three Roland style, but no reference)

image

Result: bled a little but definitely getting there.

Leave a Reply

